Friends Are Our First Major Decision In Life


group of friends

By Ankush Kumar

Last Sunday I sorted my closet, this is a routine whenever my ballooned waist decides for a change. During the entire exercise a few pieces of clothes took me back to some very fond memories.

I had this old torn white shirt of my school days. It was our last day at school before our board exams. There were best wishes messages, colors and torn ends that reminded me of the madness that took place that afternoon. I had pretty much lost touch with that bunch of pals but Facebook revived those memories.

While cleaning the lower rack of my tees section I came across a red shirt (still baffles how did I buy that one). A few friends and I had gone shopping for our first day at college. Thanks to my waist, which always embarrasses me, we tried a million stores before I finally found this shirt. My friends annoyed by stupidity, convinced me that it was looking awesome on me. I eventually was ragged to death for my red little riding hood. To date they are my closest friends and, they haven’t missed a single chance in making my misery public.

While I was arranging my photo albums neatly inside my closet, I stumbled on a few photographs. One that took me back in time was when my friends and I had beer and cigarette for the first time. One of my friend’s dad had this huge collection of scotch and cigarettes and he used to keep it in a drawer inside his bedroom. We were bored to death watching the same movie again and again, purely out of fun, we sneaked in while he was out and stole a packet of cigarettes and booze. Then went near a beach and tasted blood for the first time. Then we were just having fun; today those photographs have become cherished memories.

Once I was done with my closet act, and was dumping all my old belongings in the trashcan, a thought struck me. All material gifts get worn out and replaced, parents are a relation we choose by blood, but its friends we make independently. It’s the first major decision we take, some turn out to be sour and some very sweet.

Happy Friendship’s Day.

Leave a Reply

