Chronicles Of A Mom – To – Be!! Woo Ho!! Part 4


pregnancy

By Shwetha Kalyanasundaram

With a husband slogging away across the seas, handling a pregnancy alone can be a daunting task. It has been hard to stay positive about this pregnancy. As much as I am thrilled, I do end up mind-fighting nasty little thoughts that something may be or go wrong.  Panic attacks do suck sometimes!

So here I am, typing away furiously on my tablet, waiting outside for my NT scan. So what exactly is this? NT stands for Nuchal Translucency. This screening uses a high-powered ultrasound to measure the clear or translucent space in the tissue at the back of your developing baby’s neck. Babies with abnormalities tend to accumulate more fluid at the back of their neck during the 1st trimester, causing this clear space to be larger than average.

And boy! This was fun in its own way. The scan doctor did have her time getting the li’l peanut in position to take the necessary measurements. My mother-in-law and I had a ball of a time watching the peanut dance in my womb. Dear Husband, looks like this is an indication of the times to come after November!!

And results of the scan, the li’l one is doing absolutely perfect! All the tension, stress and anxiety that had been building up prior to the scan just disappeared instantly. And to top it all, to sit and listen to the beautiful sound of the tiny heartbeats echoing in the room, that moment is truly priceless!!!  I melted inside, and my eyes welled up with tears of happiness.  This is definitely the icing on the cake.

And finally with the first trimester behind my back, it’s time to visit the salon, to transform from a Planet of Apes resident to a more beautiful pregnant self. Your body definitely pays for the privilege of pregnancy. And this calls for a lot of pampering. Aaah, a day at the spa works wonders on your body and adds the extra glow that lasts (this in addition to the glow on a mom-to-be’s face)!

And now that I’m totally relaxed after a fun day, it’s bout time for me to sit with my eyes closed and imagine a beautiful, peaceful scene with my fantasized baby-to-be, wrapped in my arms – tis being my only solution to my panic attacks!

So it’s time to say good-bye to my first trimester and to all you folks! Brief y’all soon…

Disclaimer: As much as the above experiences are my own, I have definitely referred from my pregnancy bible “What to Expect When You’re Expecting” by Heidi Murkoff and other pregnancy blogs on Google for certain details and reasoning.

Leave a Reply

