The Night Before The Exams


night before exam

By Robin Choudhary

“ Wake up Robin.. !” Kushal, my roomate, called me, as I was sleeping, in an ever so wornout, cold and chilling evening on my uncovered shaky bed after those over- exhausting classes in the college. “HEY its roll call” he shouted and banged a dirty, dusty pillow on my head, and hell, that smelly stuff woke me up. I saw Ankit sleeping too, curled disoriented and incompletely aligned in another garbage-appearing bed. I never try wasting my already drained and sucked up energy to call such a huge mass who perhaps is, in mid of his deepest subconscious level of mesmerizing romantic dreams. So, it is therefore, a total waste of time, energy and resource to even try calling him up.

It was 7:00 pm; We all attended the roll call. The cool evening had shockingly taken form of a beautiful romantic atmosphere with cool air and light breezes framing its heavenly delight. “Best time to be with your girlfriend “ said Kushal, with seemingly dry hopes. “Yeah… but not the right topic to talk about, today” said Ankit.

And he was indeed, damn very right. We have our series exams starting from tomorrow, and god knows why the hell does this climate flawlessly shape itself to such a cool and cozy atmosphere, exactly when the exams start. These are those days, when we have to try staying awake late night to atleast make up with something to pass for the exam. And when something as soothing as this might surface itself so elegantly on a totally unwelcome phase of time, it is a crime, a merciless injustice that is showered on us.

Its about 8:00 pm. After having the coffee from h- pocket market, we all were walking together towards the flat to prepare for that gruesome war with tomorrows exam. As the romantic mood was still alive; on the way, Ankit was advising to Kushal with traditional concepts of love. One among them was in his over- joyous state and the other in over- sad state. But, with the armours of saint –like thoughts of Ankit, they were attacked flamboyantly by his infinite wisdoms and resolutions. Me and Jatin were as usually cracking jokes hearing them.

“WHAT IS THE SYLLABUS?” is probably the most famous and asked question of that time? Its 9 by now and no one among us have started studying yet. Slowly and gradually, I have started to feel the biting terror of syllabus and amount of modules to study. And as I held the photocopy, I gazed at the massive 2.8mb(82 slides) ppt on laptop and analysed the syllabus and time left, I had no choice but to insanely laugh at my state. It’s a state of expression, which, perhaps, only a laugh can fulfill.

And now every one in the room have started mugging, swallowing, cramming whatever they have to, with a pace directly proportional to the magnitude of syllabus. In this war, sleeping is like DIEING.

Its 12:00 pm, and I am already seeing dead bodies in my flat. Ankit is as if dragging from room to room with his red eyes and is slogging hard in a semi-dead state. I m pretty sure he will die soon too. But, there is one man, strong and robust. Undefeated by any sort of comfortable climate and is awaken this long with an enthusiastic sprit of scoring good marks. Jatin is always alive throughout the war, till the end. His weapons are his extraordinary mugging abilities and unpredictably launched illogical and senseless jokes, which he cracks, boundless of any time and place. Sometimes, figuring out what he said is more difficult than the studying itself. For me both are senseless anyway.

It was 2:00 am, now; even I have started to show signs of death in me. Jatin came from the other room with headphones stuffed in his ears, humming loudly. “Lets make Maggi” he said. At once came the reply “YES” by me, Ankit and Kushal in utter synchronization. MAGGI, at that point of time, is more valuable than even the luxury of gold and diamonds. We all were eating maggi when Anand woke up, still drenched in half dream, smelling strong the masala of it and like a baby he ate it and went to sleep again, as innocently as he just woke up. I wondered , how can smell of a maggi be stronger than taste of an unappeased exam.??

After eating the maggi, I had no other choice. Bed seemed like seducing me to sleep with it. Silence in my room, cool air from the window, Ankit sleeping on the bed and Kushal on the chair and topics becoming undigestable. Seriously , I had no other choice, nothing was in my favor. I was half paralyzed, over-drowsy and blank. I had to surrender my self to death, I went back to my immensely beautiful uncovered shaky bed n let die myself peacefully.

I closed my eyes to feel the hollow emptiness in my head. It was dark and silent but certainly very peaceful. I left it for the destiny to decide the result of this war. Yeah.!!Because, here, THE DEATH DOESN’T MEAN I AM LOST!!

 

 

One thought on “The Night Before The Exams

  1. nathan

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs much more consideration. Ill probably be again to read much more, thanks for that info.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

