Father…Thy Name is Pillar


slide-4

Gurulakshmi Iyer-Hait writes about the two fathers he sees in her life. One her own and the other her husband and the father of her kid. Another great read this Father’s week. 

A father is neither an anchor to hold us back,

Nor a sail to take us there,

But a guiding light whose love shows us the way.

–       Anonymous

I see my husband excited when I teach my son to wish him on the Father’s Day. An excitement and shine in his eyes that has been elusive before. I can see his feelings of pride of being a DAD!! An evolutionary offshoot and the line that distinguishes him from manhood to fatherhood!!

After I had a kid, I often compared my husband with my dad. Both of them are so different from each other yet so similar. Though I was never very close to my dad and we kind of disagreed on each and every issue, I remember my dad had always counted on my decisions for him. I was always street smart for him and he never vouched my words. As a very protective dad, we were bound by many restrictions.

On the other hand my husband as a dad is very carefree when it comes to adventuring or experimenting. He has always encouraged my kid to do whatever he wants. This big ounce of a personality defines everything.

We sisters were never scared of dad’s scolding and it was real fun to fool him too. I had so many friends who were so scared of their dads and listening such telltales really surprised me. The same is the situation with my kid. He loves fooling around and pranking on his dad.

For those who felt fathers are emotional, I have two emotional dads in my house. One is my dad and the other my husband, both of them extra emotional when it comes to their kids.

However over the years I grew up, I always felt that if a family has a pillar of support that has to be dad. Our father was always a great strength to both of us. And I am very sure that my kid will also bank on his dad while he grows up for his support, financially or otherwise.

While I see two opposite fathers in my house, opposite in personalities, opposite in approach yet the love and care that they shower upon their kids is the same.

No matter Dads are always special!!

Leave a Reply

