For There Is No Friend Like A Sister…


sisters_love_by_blopa1987-d4iu3v4

Gurulakshmi Iyer-Hait talks of her childhood and says why she feels this saying by Ami Li is absolutely true: Having a sister is like having a best friend you can’t get rid of.  You know whatever you do, they’ll still be there. This one’s for her sister she says :). 

“For there is no friend like a sister

In calm or stormy weather;

To cheer one on the tedious way,

To fetch one if one goes astray,

To lift one if one totters down,

To strengthen whilst one stands.”

-Christina Rossetti

The sight of siblings playing really caught my attention. To be precise, the sight of two sisters playing.

Like us. Elder protective and younger following the elder.

As always such sights make me go through my memory lane. This time, that of my younger sister I have often heard from my mom that I hated her when she was born(though I do not recollect any of that sort). But over the years I grew up with her, I have surely realized one thing, not everyone are lucky enough to have sisters. And all those who have, aren’t really close like us.

Our childhood experiences really bring smiles on my face. Opposites that we were,it was really difficult for others to identify both of us as siblings. I the prankster and she the obedient. We were a team throughout our childhood and I certainly did everything that bugged and irritated her.

She would iron the clothes for her,I would wear her ironed clothes. I would mess up the house and she would clean, offcourse making faces. As a kid,I never thought of spending time with her. Quite obvious that we shared almost everything and stayed under one roof. But as we grew up and started following our aspirations, our relationship grew too. It was then we felt that the warmth of togetherness is priceless!

She has always worshipped me. My words and actions have always been final verdict to her, right from early age. And should I not mention the same holds true even today despite staying thousands of miles away from each other.

I have many times imagined being a single child to my parents. It would have been nice to bask in my parents’ undivided attention but the imagination has always ended palely .While there is sharing, there are pillow fights, laughters, gossips and chatters too.

There never was any friend like a sister. While siblinghood is by chance, the love and warmth that this relationship brings in is definitely by choice. And I am blessed to have one such creature in my life!

sister

Leave a Reply

