Dilli ki Hawa – 4


Sampurna Majumder narrates her ‘bitterly-wonderful’ experience of getting drunk in the fourth part of Dilli ki Hawa!

3 girls

College life and teenage can make us do weird stuff at times. Sometimes. I remember the day I got terribly high for the fist time. I was pursuing my Master’s and had just completed by 21st birthday. D, S and I were flatmates. Every month we ended up throwing a small party at our den. Party without some tit-bits is definitely incomplete. We usually got chips, spring rolls and soft drinks as our accompaniments and of course the party comprised gossip sessions and sometimes stupid games.

smirn offIt was one such party which was a little different from the rest. This time three of us tried our hand at vodka. On D’s suggestion we decided to go the nearest local liquor store at north campus. For the first time we stepped into a liquor store. Three of us were a little perturbed as we could feel pairs of eyes ogling at us. Hurriedly we placed an order for a small bottle of vodka and returned home with our prized possession including chips, a bottle of limca and a few other tit-bits.

An hour later we spread out our accompaniments for the evening. Conversations started pouring and so did the vodka. The first round comprised vodka with limca. This was followed by a second round of the same. D had already started feeling a dizzy we could make that out pretty well from her occasional laughter and bitching about her ex-flames.

The vodka bottle was still more than half-filled. All of a sudden D threw a challenge, “who can finish the rest of vodka?” . We stared at each other and by that time the mixture of limca and vodka had already started taking its toll on me. I could feel it. However, I tried to be the brave one and before either of them could decide upon, I took the plunge.

Gulp! Gulp! Gulp! … and bottoms’ Up!!!

After that all I could remember was D and S helping me lie down in the bed so that I could have a good night’s sleep.

Next morning D and S narrated what exactly had happened. I had lost complete control of myself and was crying hysterically. God knows why? And the episode doesn’t end here. I was told that I started throwing up badly and it was all over D; so much so that she had to take bath in the December winters of Delhi. I tried falling back on my last night’s memory and I could vaguely recollect the throwing up!

“How I wish I had not thrown such a challenge!!!”. D lamented.

Leave a Reply

